Just Another Shameless Plug

Ok, before I dive right in into another one of my Threadless submission, let me give you the backstory behind my inspiration.

It actually happened quite a fair bit ago, when I chanced upon a DVD sale at the mega mart. There were a few classic movies going at ridiculous prices. (or so I remembered, since it was so long ago.) I grabbed a few and one of them was Taxi Driver starring Robert De Niro.

The younger generation will probably remember De Niro from the Meet the Parents and Meet the Fockers. Remember?

De Niro from Meet the Parents



And this is De Niro in a poster for Taxi Driver.

Robert De Niro and a young Jodie Foster stars in Taxi Driver

I didn’t get to watch the film then cos I couldn’t get it to run on my laptop and soon enough, I’ve forgotten all about it. It was only until a few weeks back that I took time out and sat through it. Here is the synopsis from the back cover of the box:

Robert De Niro stars with Jodie Foster, Cybill Shepherd, Harvey Keitel, Peter Boyle and Albert Brooks in the all-too-real story of a psychotic New York cabby who is driven to violence in an attempt to rescue a teenage prostitute.

And just before the aforementioned violent attempt, De Niro’s character, Travis Bickle went from shaggy hair to an extreme Mohawk to signal his intent to go all out in a rampage to “purge the filth from the city”. Hence, leading to the crux of my design.

Taxi Driver t-shirt design

My Threadless submission inspired by Taxi Driver

A taxi flying menacingly off the road illustrated in the form of Travis’s iconic hairstyle. Clickity on the image or over here to vote for my design. 5 if you liked it, 0 if you hate it.

Do check out the film if you can rent or stream it. I’m open to loaning my copy if anyone is interested. If there are no possible means to view the movie in its entirety, I’ve included a few important scenes below.








Enjoy! And remember to vote!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

